Roman Catholic Diocese of Chingleput

Welcome to the Diocese of Chingleput

The Diocese of Chingleput is made out of the entire civil district of Kancheepuram in the State of Tamil Nadu, India. The diocese of Chengleput when carved out from the Archdiocese of Madras Mylapore had 64 parishes and has grown over the years to 94 parishes along with 2 independent shrines viz. St. Thomas National Shrine and Mazhai Malai Madha Shrine.

Chengleput was declared as an independent new diocese by His Holiness late John Paul II on the 19th July 2002. Preparations for the carving out the new diocesan territory was initiated in 1987 by Most Rev. Dr. G. Casimir Gnanathikam SJ, the then Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Madras Mylapore. The bifurcation became a reality during the tenure of Most Rev. Dr. Arul Das James, the then Archbishop of Madras Mylapore in succession.

Most. Rev. Dr. A. Neethinathan, was appointed as the first Bishop of Chingleput and continue to carry out the pastoral ministry with the help of 117 diocesan priests, 59 religious priests and 74 religious congregations.

The diocese is the home for historically renowned St. Thomas Mount Shrine where Apostle Thomas was martyred and the shrine of the Miraculous Mother Mary - Mazhai Malai Madha at Acharapakkam.

Location Map


Copyright © 2021 Roman Catholic Diocese of Chingleput All rights reserved. Powered by Boscosoft